The Sea Is Salt and So Am I (Hardcover)

The Sea Is Salt and So Am I Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
Copper Dog Books
1 on hand, as of Oct 27 7:04pm

July/August 2021 Kids Indie Next List


“Readers will be swept away by the lyrical writing in this fiercely moving tale of three teens facing the storms battering their coastal town and their hearts. Full of passion, grief, and resilience, it’s perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson, Julia Drake, and Jennifer Niven.”
— Alyssa Raymond, Copper Dog Books, Beverly, MA

Description


I’ll Give You the Sun meets Normal People in Cassandra Hartt's The Sea Is Salt and So Am I, a stunning YA contemporary debut that asks if the secrets we keep and the people we love can change who we are.

"Achingly beautiful.”—Rachael Lippincott, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Five Feet Apart

"Turbulent and tender, this deeply-felt debut will make your heart swell time and time again."—Julia Drake, author of The Last True Poets of the Sea


West Finch is one hurricane away from falling into the sea.

Yet sixteen-year-old Harlow Prout is determined to save her small Maine hometown. If only she could stop getting in her own way and find someone, anyone, willing to help. But her best friend Ellis MacQueen “fixes” problems by running away from them—including his broken relationship with his twin brother, Tommy. And Tommy’s depression has hit a new low, so he’s not up for fixing anything.

In the wake of the town’s latest devastating storm, Tommy goes out for a swim that he doesn’t intend to survive. It’s his unexpected return that sets into motion a sea change between these three teens. One that tests old loyalties, sparks new romance, and uncovers painful secrets. And nothing stays secret in West Finch for long.

Exquisitely honest and shimmering with emotion, The Sea is Salt and So Am I is a captivating multi-POV story that probes the depths of what it means to love and trust—both ourselves and others.

About the Author


Cassandra Hartt grew up in upstate New York and Maine, where she spent most of her childhood among the seaside suburbs and rocky beaches that inspired the fictional town of West Finch. She went on to earn an English degree from Dartmouth College and currently works as a program manager for Google. She lives in the Bay Area and wishes she had a dog. The Sea Is Salt And So Am I is her first novel.

Praise For…


Praise for The Sea Is Salt And So Am I:
A July 2021 Kids' Indie Next Pick
A Bustle Best Debut of Spring 2021

“Capturing the turbulence of teenagers and the enormity of their feelings, The Sea Is Salt and So Am I is tailor-made to become a Netflix hit in the very near future.”—E! Online

"A compulsively readable tale of secrets, loyalties, and lies in a small town."—Culturess

"Beautiful and heartbreaking."—The Young Folks

"At once turbulent and tender, this deeply-felt debut will make your heart swell time and time again."—Julia Drake, author of The Last True Poets of the Sea

The Sea is Salt And So Am I is a breathtaking debut, filled with complicated characters and feelings that permeate the pages with their honesty. Achingly beautiful.”—Rachael Lippincott, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Five Feet Apart

“Hartt is uninterested in easy answers, unspooling mysteries and emotions that shift what we thought we knew about characters caught in realistically nonlinear growth. . . . A melancholy and thoughtful debut.”—Kirkus Reviews

"Readers will be swept away by Cassandra Hartt's lyrical writing . . . perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson's I'll Give You the Sun and Jennifer Niven's All the Bright Places."—Alyssa Raymond, Cooper Dog Books

Raw, honest, and nearly impossible to put down . . . even when you feel like you are drowning, this book reminds you there is always something to pull you back up for air."—Colleen Regan, An Unlikely Story

“An unflinching look at the waves of depression, and how the riptides can carry our loved ones away with us, The Sea Is Salt and So Am I is a must-read."—Abby Rice, The Briar Patch

"An incredible and delicate coming-of-age story.”—Kelsy April, Bank Square Books

"This book will make your heart clench with anxiety and tender intimacy. For fans of Nina LaCour, Celeste Ng, and Tillie Walden."—Cassie Duncanson, Wellesley Books

“This book gives an unflinchingly raw look at depression . . . adds a layer of story that stings like salt."— Nichole Cousins, Yankee Bookshop



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250619242
ISBN-10: 1250619246
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Publication Date: June 8th, 2021
Pages: 384
Language: English