Jess's Staff Picks

Honey Girl Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780778311027
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days. Please note that sometimes a book is available on our website but not currently on the store shelves
Published: Park Row - February 23rd, 2021

Ever feel like a book has broken you open, bared your soul to the world, and made you more whole? Honey Girl is that book for me. 

Grace has always been the girl with a plan: a plan her father gave her. For 13 years, Grace has stuck to her plan, working tirelessly towards her goal of a doctorate in Astronomy. But when she graduates and the real world bites and she marries a stranger in Vegas, all her plans start to unravel. And Grace realizes that maybe, just maybe, having a life plan isn't everything. 

This coming of age story is perfect for the millennial dealing with the existential terror of figuring life out when all your plans crumble and you're forced to choose between the path that fulfills you and the path that you think you need to take. Filled with heart and humor and lyrical writing, this book is a glimpse into the burnout and exhaustion that comes with a plan you never wanted for yourself, but also showcases the strength of found family and intimate friendships. 


Six of Crows Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250076960
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Square Fish - February 6th, 2018

Fans of Peaky Blinders and Oceans 11 will love this heist story with a dash of magic. When Kaz Brekker, criminal prodigy and leader of the Dregs, is hired to break into a high security prison, he throws together the best rag tag team of thieves, sharpshooters, and soldiers he can find. Coming to Netflix in April!


The Extraordinaries Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250203656
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Teen - July 14th, 2020

Move over Spiderman- there's a new hyper active hero in town! If you love fanfic, superheroes, and the classic friends to lovers trope, stop what you're doing and pick this book up right now!


Vicious (Villains #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250183507
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - May 29th, 2018

This is the dark superhero origin story of your dreams. When two college friends begin to experiment in an effort to gain ExtraOrdinary abilities, their tests go horribly wrong. Who is the hero and who is the villain?


Truthwitch: The Witchlands Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780765379290
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Teen - January 10th, 2017

Two best friends use their magic to change the world. Ancient prophecies, blood magic, pirates, mercenaries, political intrigue, and romance make this series unforgettable. 


Incendiary (Hollow Crown #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781368023801
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days. Please note that sometimes a book is available on our website but not currently on the store shelves
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 28th, 2020

Perfect for fans of Red Queen and Bloodleaf, Incendiary is explosive with political intrigue and high stakes. This is propulsive nail biter of a book with a fascinating magic system and fiery, independent heroine who will risk everything for the ones she loves.