Lizy's Staff Picks

Lizy picks books like a corvid picking favorite objects: the shinier, weirder, or curiouser, the better. She mostly reads SFFH, but dabbles in contemporary romance, MG and children's, and LGBTQ interest. The only rule is that there are no rules and every book is her favorite.

Mark of Truth Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781948446754
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chaotic Press, LLC - May 23rd, 2017

My favorite urban fantasy. MARK OF TRUTH features a brook no shit female lead, the sexiest goblin shifter to ever be penned, and a world full of fae and magic you won't want to leave. This series, written by Massachusetts native Graceley Knox, is truly unputtdownable. 


The Ruin of Kings (A Chorus of Dragons #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250175502
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days. Please note that sometimes a book is available on our website but not currently on the store shelves
Published: Tor Books - September 10th, 2019

Perfect for fans of Patrick Rothfuss and Brandon Sanderson, this book has is all: gods that can die, mortals that can't, cursed relics, a dying world, a disaster bi main character, and dragons the size of actual islands. I'm obsessed with this series.


Ring Shout Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250767028
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tordotcom - October 13th, 2020

Macon, GA, 1922. African-Americans, Gullahs, and Trinis team up with supernatural forces to fight monsters made from KKK hatred. Ring Shout is a masterpiece for modern times. P. Djeli Clark puts his foot on the gas and doesn't let up until the final sentence. Everyone and their mother needs to read this book.


The Witch's Heart Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780593099940
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days. Please note that sometimes a book is available on our website but not currently on the store shelves
Published: Ace - February 9th, 2021

This book gets Vikings right, and it's my favorite book of the decade. This is the story of Angrboda Iron-Witch, Sorrow-Bringer, first wife of Loki and mother of “monsters,” the story of a woman thrice burned, thrice reborn, and finally, the story of the gods who lived before Asgard and the gods who lived after. This is the story of Ragnarok. Gornichec weaves a fresh take on an ancient and well-loved tale in THE WITCH'S HEART.