Middle Grade and YA Fantasy Books by AAPI Authors

Aru Shah and the End of Time (A Pandava Novel Book 1) (Pandava Series #1) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781368023566
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days. Please note that sometimes a book is available on our website but not currently on the store shelves
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - March 19th, 2019

Twelve-year-old Aru Shah stretches the truth to fit in at school. While her classmates jet off on fun adventures during break, she’ll spend hers in the Museum of Ancient Indian Art and Culture, waiting for her archeologist mom to return. When three schoolmates dare her to prove the museum’s Lamp of Bharata is cursed, Aru lights it and accidentally frees an ancient demon.


Dragon Pearl Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781368014748
Availability: Backordered
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - January 7th, 2020

A space opera infused with Korean mythology about a thirteen-year-old who comes from a long line of fox spirits. Gamblers, pirates, and vengeful ghosts make this a rollicking sci-fi adventure.


When You Trap a Tiger: (Winner of the 2021 Newbery Medal) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524715700
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days. Please note that sometimes a book is available on our website but not currently on the store shelves
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - January 28th, 2020

Korean folklore comes to life in this book about a girl who goes on a quest to unlock the power of stories and save her grandmother.

When Lily’s grandmother gets sick, a magical tiger straight out of her halmoni's Korean folktales arrives and demands payment for something that was stolen by her grandmother a long time ago.

 


Staff Pick Badge
A Wish in the Dark Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781536204940
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - March 24th, 2020

A timely tale that shines a light on equity, justice, and class issues, A WISH IN A DARK features a diverse cast of perfectly imperfect characters in a richly immersive and captivating world that I found myself thinking about long after I finished the novel! Pong and Nok were a delight to read about! A story full of monk temples, daring prison escapes involving durian fruit, shocking family secrets, and meaningful friendships, A WISH IN THE DARK is a must-read.

-Jess

 


Staff Pick Badge
Lalani of the Distant Sea Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062747280
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days. Please note that sometimes a book is available on our website but not currently on the store shelves
Published: Greenwillow Books - September 15th, 2020

Inspired by Filipino folklore, this story follows Lalani on a voyage to save her ailing mother and her future. Perfect for fans of Moana and The Girl Who Drank the Moon. 


Staff Pick Badge
Forest of Souls (Shamanborn Series #1) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781645673378
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Page Street Kids - May 18th, 2021

A unique medieval fantasy woven with elements of Hmong shamanism, Forest of Souls follows a queen’s spy-in training who discovers she has the ability to bring the dead back to life after her best friend is killed.


Staff Pick Badge
We Hunt the Flame (Sands of Arawiya #1) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250250797
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days. Please note that sometimes a book is available on our website but not currently on the store shelves
Published: Square Fish - December 1st, 2020

An Arabian-inspired quest fantasy where a huntress disguised as a boy to enter a tournament and the prince tasked to kill her are forced to work together to find a lost artifact. We Hunt the Flame is one of a kind!


Shatter the Sky (The Shatter the Sky Duology) Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781534437913
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - August 4th, 2020

Written by an independent bookseller turned author that’s from the Boston area, Shatter the Sky is about a dragon rider who storms a keep to rescue her kidnapped girlfriend. Angry bisexual dragons? Sign me up!


Star Daughter Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062894625
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days. Please note that sometimes a book is available on our website but not currently on the store shelves
Published: HarperTeen - August 11th, 2020

This Hindu mythology-inspired fantasy--set in the modern world and centering around a teen caught between two worlds, believing she must hide parts of her self to survive--is my favorite kind of fairy tale. After half-mortal/half-star Sheetal Mistry accidentally injures her father with her star power, she searches for her mother, a star who abandoned them a decade ago when she returned to the heavens. Her mother can save her father with a drop of her blood; but first Sheetal must win a musical competition to decide the next ruling house of heaven. STAR DAUGHTER is a perfect response to Neil Gaiman's STARDUST. -Alyssa


The Gilded Wolves: A Novel Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250144553
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days. Please note that sometimes a book is available on our website but not currently on the store shelves
Published: Wednesday Books - September 22nd, 2020

 

Jess really loved this historical fantasy set in 1880’s Paris, with a treasure hunter who puts together a band of thieves to track down a powerful artifact. Perfect for fans of Six of Crows!